Often asked: How Unique Is The Navy And Marine Corps Commendation Medal?

Is the Navy Commendation Medal a big deal?

Although the Commendation Medal isn’t uncommon in today’s military service, it’s a great achievement all the same. Service members who display acts of heroism or meritorious achievements while performing their duties should be recognized for their contribution to their unit and the nation.

How do you get a Navy and Marine Corps Commendation Medal?

The Navy and Marine Corps Commendation Medal may be awarded to service members who, while serving in any capacity with the Navy or Marine Corps, distinguish themselves by heroism, outstanding achievement or meritorious service (but not of sufficient nature to warrant a higher decoration).

Who can award a Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal?

The Navy & Marine Corps Achievement Medal (NAM) is a decoration presented by the United States Department of the Navy to service members of the U.S. Navy and Marine Corps who have performed commendably in routine duties or exceptional achievements, that have not been recognized by a higher award.

You might be interested:  Question: What Does Corp Stand For In Marines?

Who can approve a Navy Commendation Medal?

(4) Commanding Officer, Naval Academy Preparatory School and the Commandant of Midshipmen are authorized to approve Navy and Marine Corps Commendation Medals (NC) and lesser awards.

How long is a Navy Commendation Medal citation?

Citations for the Navy and Marine Corps Commendation and Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medals shall be prepared in all upper case letters in Courier New, size 10, and are limited to 7 1/2 typewritten lines with margins of one inch.

What opening phrase is used for a Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal?

The following opening phrase is used for the Navy Achievement Medal: ” For professional achievement in the superior performance of his/her duties while serving as…” 2. Statement of Achievement or Service.

What are the top 10 military medals?

The military medals discussed here are decorations, not awards.

  • The Medal of Honor. The Medal of Honor is the highest military honor presented for valor.
  • The Distinguished Service Cross, the Navy Cross and the Air Force Cross.
  • Distinguished Flying Cross.
  • The Bronze Star.
  • The Purple Heart.

What order do Navy ribbons go in?

Arrange ribbons in order of precedence in rows from top down, inboard to outboard. Wear all ribbons if you have earned three or more.

What is the C device?

The “C” device would show that the Army Commendation Medal was awarded during combat. A soldier can receive a “C” device even if the soldier wasn’t personally engaged in combat but the service or achievement being recognized was in a combat area, according to the release.

You might be interested:  Readers ask: Why Is The Marine Corps Bootcamp So Intense?

What are the 3 types of Medal of Honor?

There are three different types of Medal of Honor today: the original star shape established in 1861, which the Navy, Marine Corps and Coast Guard have retained; a wreath version designed in 1904 for the Army; and an altered wreath version for the Air Force, adopted in 1965.

Which is higher silver or bronze star?

To receive the Medal of Honor, for example, a recipient must have demonstrated “conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of life above and beyond the call of duty.” The Distinguished Service Cross, the second-highest decoration that can be bestowed on an American soldier, requires “extraordinary heroism.” The

What size star goes on a Navy Achievement Medal?

A 5⁄16 inch star (9.7mm) is a miniature gold or silver five-pointed star that is authorized by the United States Armed Forces as a ribbon device to denote subsequent awards for specific decorations of the Department of the Navy, Coast Guard, Public Health Service, and National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

What are personal awards USMC?

Personal awards are conferred upon individuals for acts of heroism, acts of gallantry, or for meritorious service. Unit awards are awarded to individuals who are members of units that are cited for outstanding performance.

Can a marine wear an Army Achievement Medal?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *